Cereal is back on the menu

image It’s baaccck

I miss cereal.  Let me re-phrase that, I missed cereal.  I have attempted to eat cereal a few times each year in hopes that one day it won’t go right through me.   I am excited to report that that two weeks ago was that day.

For me, cereal was a breakfast staple for many years. Not only was it quick and easy, there were so many varieties to choose from.  I could wake up, eat a bowl of cereal and be out the door in no time.  I missed cereal.

Often I would walk through the grocery store, pick up my old favourite cereals, read the ingredient lists and then return the box back to the shelf for I had vivid flashbacks to my dumping syndrome day.  Many varieties of cereal have a high sugar content with glucose or fructose being in the first few ingredients. In addition, I try to avoid too much unbleached wheat flour as it makes me feel ill.

Two weeks ago a box of Multigrain Cheerios ended up in the shopping cart.  Not only were they one of my favourites but they were also on sale.  The sugar content was 6g per 1 cup.  Cheerios are also high in iron.  It was time to try eating cereal again.

I started with half a bowl of dry cereal in the evening.  It’s better to eat sweetened foods later in the night because my mom and I both believe that a “buffer” is created with food eaten earlier in the day.  Less chance of dumping.  After finishing the bowl, I waited for the inevitable to occur….but lo and behold. I was fine.   No gut pain. No gurgling. No fatigue or nausea. No dumping!

Feeling excited, I ate a small bowl of cereal the next evening with milk.  Again, I was fine.  High fives occurred all around in our house.  Also a little dancing. Okay, a lot of dancing.

The next test was to eat it first thing in the morning. No buffer. Fear, yes.  This morning, I poured myself half a bowl of cereal with milk.  I told myself to eat it slow but I definitely ate it in 10 minutes.   About 10 minutes after I finished, I started to feel my heart rate rise.   But about 10 minutes after that, I was fine!  No fatigue, no diarrhea, no nausea.  I’ll take it as a small victory.

A big turning point came about 2-3 months ago.  I decided I was tired of avoiding foods I wasn’t sure about and that I would just go for it (within reason).  Up until then, I was apprehensive to try new foods or foods that had caused problems in the past.  It’s frightening because you don’t know it’s bad until it’s too late.  Much like drinking too much alcohol.  Everyone is having a great time until it really hits you. By that time, it’s too late to turn back and you must deal with the consequences.  It was time to face my fears.

Since then I have discovered that I can tolerate more than what I had previously thought.  It’s exciting that as the months pass, I find myself adding more and more foods to the can have list and not the can’t have list.  A great start to 2017!

tom-quigley1-asset-4fbf959cefaad

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cereal is back on the menu

Leave a Reply

