Three decades down

On the 22nd this month I celebrated my 31st birthday.  I couldn’t help but recap the 30th year of my life.  At the end of my birthday blog post last year, I mentioned looking forward to what adventured 30th year would bring. I can tell you now that there were lots of adventures.

Last October I was struggling to maintain my weight. I was sitting at around 106lbs. I had been back to work for just under two months.  I struggled to maintain my weight as the stricture I had caused a lot of personal and family stress.  Physically, I was in rotten shape and eating was a continual experiment.

Well I’m happy to say that I now sit between 113.5-115lbs. I have not seen 112lbs on the scale for a long time. I’m at the gym at least 2x a week and am working a 32 hour work week with a near full caseload.

I have grown up a lot over the past year and continue to enjoy all of life’s small things. I’m ever thankful to have such a wonderful support network because without it, I would be lost.

I’m thankful for my health. Things can change so suddenly. Last week my mom (who also had a total gastrectomy in 2010) suddenly developed abdominal cramping. Eventually the pain was so severe she had to go to the ER. After taking a CT scan and running blood work, the doctors determined she had a “small bowel obstruction” and recommended investigative surgery. Five laproscopic incisions later and three nights in the hospital – mom was discharged home. Long story short, my mom is doing well and her small bowel is okay. My mom is just over 5.5 years post TG and this happened in a flash which made me remember that things can always change with no rhyme or reason.

CDH1 mutation still leaves me with a 40-60% chance of developing lobular breast cancer and I’d be lying if I said I don’t think about it. This month I have thought about it more as it is breast cancer awareness month and I received my letter that it is time for my annual screen. I’m sure the screen will be fine but screening always is a reminder that CDH1 mutation still is with me and my cancer risk is still elevated. Will I get a prophylactic masectomy? I haven’t decided yet but I do know I am going to wait at least another 7-10 years before seriously considering it.

I celebrated my 31st birthday with an impromptu hike with Brandon to one of my favourite places in town.  It’s a peak that looks over the entire town and the view is most spectacular in the fall.  After the hike we went to dinner at one of our favourite restaurants, Taylor’s Tea Room.  Normally they only serve breakfast and lunch, but more recently they have started to serve dinner on Thurs-Sunday.  We arrived at the restaurant around 7:45ish to an empty dining room.  We ended up having the entire dining room to ourselves for our entire meal.  It was an experience that was extra special and something that we couldn’t have planned.
image

So the big question is, “Did I eat cake on my birthday?” Answer – yes, I did. Did I pay for it? You bet. Was it worth it? 100% it was.

4 thoughts on “Three decades down

  1. Thank you for your blog. Sharing your experience was especially helpful to me when I was diagnosed with the CDH1gene mutation and faced with the difficult decision to have a TG.

Leave a Reply

