You can live without a stomach? – a 15 month update

I cannot believe that it’s already mid August.  Where has the summer gone?  This summer has definitely been an exciting one to say the least.

When I last visited the surgeon back in June, she mentioned to me that it would take 2-3 months to feel like I’ve returned to pre-surgery normal.  Well pre-surgery, but missing an organ sort of normal.  She couldn’t have been more correct.

As I mentioned last blog post, I changed jobs and started working at a new physiotherapy clinic.  I have been gradually building hours over the past six weeks and for this first time this week, I was able to put in closer to full time clinical hours.  It’s been a long time in the making and I’m pumped to say the least.

At work I am helping others get well but little do the patients know that they are also helping me return to normal as well.  Performing daily manual therapy on people as well as demonstrating a variety of exercises, has resulted in my body shape returning to pre-surgery form.  I am getting stronger as well as more lean.

I also try to practice what I preach and that means working on my own posture.  Often I find myself walking with forward head posture.  Essentially it means my shoulders are rounded forward, my neck in slight extension with my chin jutting forward.  This is something that has been stuck with me since surgery and I am now making a conscious effort to change it.  It stems from lack of core strength as well as not standing up straight for the month or two after surgery due to the incisional discomfort.  My brain learned that this posture was upright for me, when in fact, it was not.  When I stand erect it seems I am leaning slightly backwards but in reality I am upright.

Example of forward head posture on the right.

Example of forward head posture on the right.

Thankfully, as a practicing physiotherapist, I am able to give myself my own home exercise program to improve my posture. However, I would recommend that people who have had a prophylactic total gastrectomy see a physical therapist when they are cleared by their doctor to do so.  I believe it will reduce many problems that can creep up on us down the line.  I noticed at the “Spotlight on Gastric Cancer” event in April, that many of us had the same posture and I believe it is a result of surgery.

I often forget that living without a stomach is shocking to some people.  The other day I was in the vitamin aisle at the local grocery store and an employee asked me if she could help me out.  I mentioned to her that I was looking for vitamins that are easily absorbed because I was lacking a stomach.  The look on her face was priceless.  She said, “You can live without a stomach?”.  I wasn’t sure how to reply since I was very much alive and in front of her. Haha.  Its become a normal in my family as well as among my friends.  I’m part of a strong community of felIow CDH1 positive stomachless people and it becomes even more of a norm.    I have to remind myself of the feelings I felt when my mom first told my brother and I that she would be removing her stomach.   I speak of it so nonchalantly about it but to the general public, I guess it is a little bit of a wild thing.

I am happy to finally feel like I am returning to pre-surgery normal.  Looking back, the stricture really put me behind in my recovery, but there’s no point in dwelling on the past.  Just move forward and forward I will keep moving!

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “You can live without a stomach? – a 15 month update

  1. Thanks for the posture reminder, Rachel. It’s not only post surgery patients who look like your bad example. I do too, and must continually remind myself to straighten up. you set a good example for all of us.

  2. Hi, Rachel, this is Grace from Facebook, my husband’s posture is exactly like that now, never thought it could be a future problem. Thanks for your very informative blog! I also had the same experience at a Pharmacy a couple days ago, lol

Leave a Reply

