Lookin’ Good, Feelin’ Good

Spring is finally in the air here and the temperatures are such that I was able to unearth my spring wardrobe.  After pulling it all out, I repeated the process that has become all too familiar to me, try things on, look in the mirror and debate if it really is too big, convince myself that it REALLY IS too big and say goodbye to favourites.   After repeating this process for the third season in a row, I was left with a pretty bare closet.  Which only meant one thing….more shopping!

For those who have been following my journey, you will know that I recently had a makeover from the Cityline team.  As part of that makeover, mom and I received a gift card from Bayview Village located in the big city.  After the show, Janice (the stylist), offered to meet us at Bayview village to help us spend our gift card.  This outing occurred last Friday and it couldn’t have come sooner.

I was really looking forward to meeting up with Janice again because she is such a positive and inspirational person to be around.  I spent two days with her for the Cityline show and clearly it wasn’t enough.  While we were shopping, it was amazing to watch Janice in the clothing racks pulling many pieces of clothing to try on.  She just knew what to pull to put together the perfect outfit.  She also gave me a lot of great style tips. Did you know that there are different types of bras and there are specific cup shapes for your body type!?!?  As a person who lived in yoga pants and sweaters, this experience was definitely eye opening.   It was exciting to come home and hang all my new clothing up in my closet.  I used to spend fifteen minutes trying to figure out what I could wear because I didn’t have anything to wear, and now it’s spending fifteen minutes deciding which new outfit to wear.

But what I have learned since the Cityline experience and even more so after shopping with Janice is that when you look good, you feel good as well.  I used to watch a lot of “What Not to Wear” and the person who was receiving the makeover would always mention how much better they felt afterwards.  I know it’s T.V. but I fully understand what they are talking about now.

I would definitely recommend anyone to see a stylist but especially for those who have gone though similar experiences as myself.  It really is a morale booster and helps you appreciate your new body to a different level.   Thanks Janice!

Janice is currently developing her webpage but when it’s up. I’ll be sure to link to it.

See some of you in Philadelphia on Thursday!  I’m sure I’ll have a lot to blog about after this week.

Leave a Reply

