For the love of Oatmeal

Oatmeal love

I’m not sure what I would do without oatmeal.  Prior to surgery, I rarely ate it I was a cereal and milk kind of person.  It was fast and easy.  Now is a whole different story.  Oatmeal is one of the easiest things for me to digest and often a go to food.

I’ve learned more about oatmeal in the last 6 months than I had ever imagined learning about.  Oatmeal research? Sure why not.  Did you know that oatmeal starts as a groat?  If it’s cut smaller it’s steel cut oats and if those are pressed they are rolled oats? The thinner the rolled oat the faster it will cook.  So Quaker quick oats are thin and instant oats are even thinner.

Prior to surgery I would take my Quaker quick oats – pour some in a bowl with milk and microwave it.  After it was done, I’d add brown sugar and it’s done! Looking back, I can now see that I was missing out on a lot!

A few blogs ago, I mentioned savoury oatmeal.  Recently, I’ve discovered overnight oatmeal.  This has been a whole new ball game. Basically you combine a whole bunch of ingredients the night before and then in the morning add a little bit of fruit and you are good to go.  There are a lot of recipes out there but I have been  using one with 1/2 cup of oatmeal, 1.25 cups of milk (lactose free), 1/4 cup of chia seed, and 1 mashed banana.  I leave it overnight and in the morning I put hemp seeds and blueberries on top.  I eat half in the morning and eat the other half as a snack later in the day.

I also have been eating oatmeal with a soft boiled egg on top with a layer of shredded cheese underneath.  I found the recipe online as well.  I never considered putting an egg on top of oatmeal before.

Oatmeal is also great as an ingredient in smoothies as well as granola bars.

For people who have had a gastrectomy, oatmeal is great because it has fiber in it and gelling properties for those who may have issues with soft stool.  It also slows transition of food through the gut.   I can eat a lot of it and still feel good afterwards.  Thank goodness for oatmeal!

 

8 thoughts on “For the love of Oatmeal

  1. Before my surgery I used to mix my scrambled eggs with my oatmeal! I totally forgot about that till I read this lol. Now I feel like making some oatmeal. I just hope it goes down smooth ( I’m in process of having esophagus dilated, 4 sessions done, 3 more to go! hopefully just 3) Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

