5km without a stomach

Good news!  I didn’t die from doing the 5km Santa Jingle.  There were some shady moments, but I made it, and to this day my body lives to tell the tale.

As a physiotherapist, I would never recommend doing what I did to any of my patients…but of course, I did it anyways.  Brandon and I have participated in this 5km run/walk for the past three years.  Everyone is required to dress up in a race issued Santa Claus outfit and run/walk 5km.  It is a very scenic race as it takes place along Hamilton’s Bayfront Park.   When I registered at the beginning of November, I had planned to run/walk the race.  In my mind, walking would be the best and safest option since I did not train for this race.

I should have known better.  I am a competitive person and watching everyone run past me at the start of the race was not in the cards.  When the gun went off I started jogging at an easy pace.  So far so good.  Then my muscles started to get tired – quads, hamstrings, and glutes.  I started to feel a little short of breath.  I thought to myself, “I must be at least 2 km by now” and then I ran past the 1km sign.  Good times.

I told myself I would try to run at least half of the race but around the 1.5km mark I had to walk for a little because I was starting to feel lightheaded.  After about 30 seconds, I started to run again.  I ended up doing the run in a run/walk format.

At the end of the race, I was eager to check my results.  I managed to finish the race in 34 minutes and 48 seconds.  I placed 18th out of 28 people in my age category.  That means I beat over half of the people in the 30-34 age category.  I know that this race isn’t very competitive but it’s a fun one.    I’m not sure where I placed overall yet as the final results haven’t been posted.  I’m hoping I’m in the top half.

Last year, I ran the race in 29 minutes and managed to place 2nd for my age category.  But there’s no sense in comparing my times to last year.  This year’s circumstances were significantly different.  I’m just happy I beat someone.  However, next year it sure would be awesome to place in the top three for my age category….without a stomach!

Okay hot Epsom salts bath time.

Still smiling!

Still smiling!

8 thoughts on “5km without a stomach

  1. Yea!!! Epsom salts bath!!! And are you kidding lady compare all you like!!! You didn’t even add 10 minutes to your time and you are only 7 months out!! You are amazing!! Inspirational!! A fine example of what you can accomplish when you stay positive!! Wow, just wow!!

    • Haha, it was fun. I’m still sore from Sunday and in muscles I didn’t even realize you used much in running. Too funny.

      Will you start running again soon?

      • I actually restarted my running a couple of weeks ago. When I started for the first time, I lost 4 pounds in the first week! Yikes! So I actually slowed it back down and trying to up the mileage slowly. I did about 4.5 miles yesterday and woke up still 157.8 lbs so I think I’m figuring out the balance. I think my focus on carbs and protein is helping me keep up my weight while training. Yesterday I ate 230 grams of carbs and 111 grams of protein and that’s about my average according to my app. When’s the next race?

      • I’m glad to hear you are figuring out the balance! I just run that one race a year. But I am hoping to hit the gym this week 🙂 Crazy you lost 4lbs in one week!! Weight loss at its best, eh? Haha

Leave a Reply

