Too skinny? No problem

Two days ago, I had a great chat with my RMT (registered massage therapist) and he pointed out that when I was speaking about my weight loss it usually was negatively.  I often say things like, “Oh I’m so thin now” or “all my muscles are gone”.  When I think about my past blogs, a lot of it has been focused around weight.

So that got me thinking….

When I wake up in the morning, I feel pretty awesome.  Refreshed.  Awake.  Ready to take on the day!  Then I start my morning routine and that usually involves stepping on the scale.  If the numbers have increased, I continue to feel great, but if the numbers have decreased, it can be discouraging.  How can I have lost weight when I ate all day?   But what if I didn’t step on the scale and just kept on with my day?  No discouragement.  Still feel refreshed.  Still ready to take on the day.

I tell my patients that age is just a number, it’s all about how you feel.  There are 90 year olds who feel fantastic and there are 5 year olds who are very sick.  Although monitoring my weight loss is important, I should focus more on how I’m feeling and not the number itself.   I often hear, “Oh wow you look great!”.  I reply, “I feel really great as well”.  Then I look in the mirror and I can see and feel more of my skeleton than before.  When I am lying in bed, I can no longer sleep with my knees touching because I can feel the bones butting against each other.  I can’t help but compare my new body to my old body.  I don’t “look” great in my mind.

But comparing really gets me no where!  My stomach is gone.  I am a different person than I was four months ago.  I won’t have my stomach back so I should really stop comparing.  I should focus on the positive things about the weight loss.   If people are saying I look great, I obviously look great and should start believing them.

I have decided that I will continue to eat as many calories in a day and if I lose a pound.  Don’t get discouraged.  I am still recovering.  As long as I am feeling great and I am continuing to eat as I should, things will all work themselves out in the long run.  Even though I may not feel like I look great some days, I will keep saying it to myself and I will come around and believe it 100%.

Not dwelling on my weight so much over the past day has already made me feel a lot better about myself and my body image.  When I stepped on the scale today and it read 105.6lbs, I didn’t tell myself, “Oh you must stay above 105lbs”. I told myself, “that’s okay, still lookin’ good, today is another great day”.

if-skinny1_lrg

9 thoughts on “Too skinny? No problem

  1. Keep “chipping” away at those calories, I manage to put weight on, but just being sick a couple days can put me behind, so I think of it like a weight bank that I can borrow against when I need it most. You got this!

  2. Keep it up! My bro is just now holding his weight and eats non-stop. I’m not so critical now to eat all the time, but I do snack a lot out of habit.

    I just get sad that people think skinny=healthy. Now that I feel good and more strong, I’m better. But when people make “you’re so skinny, how do you do it?” comments, I’m at a loss how to respond. Good thing I’ve got my fellow stomachless online. 🙂

  3. Your positive attitude is infectious! Keep your chin up, do what you can and be happy with who you are. Your words are inspiring.

Leave a Reply

