Back to school prep…I mean work

Two weeks of ‘vacation’ left.  I feel like a school kid getting prepared for back to school.  So far I have managed to getting a much needed hair cut and find some new work clothes. Thanks Value Village 50% off sales.

I decided to amp up my activity because I wanted to start getting in shape for work.  Doing my own exercises at home with a formal exercise plan has never been my forte.  The physio is the worst physio patient.  Remember when I wrote about doing some exercises for my core about 3-4 weeks post op? Do you remember me talking about them again? That lasted about a week.  Last week I brought out my 5lbs weights and started doing some light bicep curls, deltoid flys, and squats.  That also lasted 3 days.  I know what I need to do, but I am just so bad at doing it on my own.  I’m a group exercise class kind of person.

I decided to get into shape by doing more informal physical activity because I was failing at the formal route.  Conveniently, I acquired about 10 outdoor planters as well as a garden bench from a relative.  Since I have been spending a lot of time in our backyard this summer, I thought it would be nice to have a bench to go underneath our apple tree.  If I wanted a physical challenge, this would be it!  Lots of sanding, lifting, disassembling and assembling, and staining.  See the before picture below.

wpid-20140818_090520.jpg

 

I had planned to take it a few steps at a time.  Disassemble and sand on day one.  Day two would be painting the iron and slats.  Day three reassemble and urethane coat.  Three days and it would be done. I should have known better.  I’m not a take things slow person, I’m go big or go home.  I called up my mother in law who offered to help and we conquered the bench in one day.  It was a full day but we did it. At the end of the day both of us were wiped but the bench was beautiful.  See below.

We did it!

We did it!

I thought for sure that I would be bed ridden the next day from all the activity.  Miraculously, I was not!  So the next day, I spent the next day planting my planters, picking up fallen apples, tending to the vegetable garden and to top it all off, visiting my co-workers at work.  All and all a great couple of days!

When it comes to physical activity, this week ranks up there with what I used to do before surgery.  However, yesterday and this morning, I woke up with some incision pain which was reminder that I am still recovering.  I think all the activity broke more adhesions beneath the surface. This is a good thing.

I am building more muscle because I am doing more.  More muscle means burning more calories at rest. Burning more calories at rest means weight loss if you don’t eat enough.  The slippery slope has returned. I now sit at my lowest weight of 106lbs.  I am dangerously close to 105lbs.  Physically and mentally, I feel really good.  I thought I was eating enough. Clearly, I was not.  So now I must make a conscious effort to eat more often.  When I think of food, I should be eating food.  Not just thinking of food.  This is my biggest concern about returning to work.  My mom lost quite a bit of weight when she returned to work.

Speaking of which, I had sushi and sashimi for the first time post surgery on Thursday.

wpid-20140821_122020.jpg

After six pieces of sashimi, I was full.  I ended up taking the California rolls home for second lunch.  I loved sashimi before surgery.  Now, I have to chew it so much that the fish taste becomes over powering and it’s not the same experience.  I will have to stick to just one or two pieces instead of my usual.  This has also happened with other foods I have tried.  If you are curious to know what those foods are, try chewing your food in your mouth until it is a paste and then swallow it.  This is what I do on a daily basis and you will soon discover that bacon becomes even more awesome while bread becomes baby food.

Some foods that I have really been enjoying over the past week are:
Quiche
– Hot dogs without the bun with mustard
– Almond butter on a banana
– Home made granola bars from “Oh She Glows
– Sugarless jello with loads of lactose free whipped cream
Banana-Apple Shake – supplemented the Kefir for the yogurt
– Oatmeal with almond butter and home made chia seed jam mixed into it
– Watermelon
– Freshly sliced Tomato with any meat (helps keep it all moist)

Oh and when I spoke about the doughnut last week, I ate two bites of Brandon’s Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut and felt fine. Yes! Another food win.  I celebrate all food wins because you never know what is going to happen fifteen minutes after you eat it.  Eating is still an adventure.

I received a phone call from my doctor that my recent blood work returned showing that I am now vitamin D deficient.  I now take 2,000IU of vitamin D in liquid form a day.  Since I started this earlier in the week, I have felt more energy.  The increase in energy may have been because I was pushing myself to do more or the vitamin D.  It doesn’t really matter though because the outcome has been so positive.  I have to return to the blood lab again this week to have more blood work completed for the high risk breast cancer centre in order to do the breast MRI in the fall.  I’m not looking forward to it because last time they had a hard time getting the blood and 1 hour later and grazing my median nerve, I was out of there.  I even tried to do my arm exercises before the draw to try make it easier.

Anyways, that just about sums up my week.  Next week I will be going camping for a few days with my parents and that will be a whole new eating experience.

Have a great weekend everybody!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

