Four weeks and two days – Turning a new page

Last Thursday and Friday, I had pretty bad food days and was feeling frustrated about eating. However, this past weekend made up for it all. I don’t want to jinx anything but last weekend was so good, I have to blog about it.

On Friday I mustered up the courage to get into the car and go for a short drive. I managed to drive to the local shopping plaza which is five minutes away. Although I felt like I was going really fast, I glanced down at my speedometer to see that I was only going 40kms/hr. Good thing I was just in my subdivision at that time. I held off driving for the first four weeks because I felt like I didn’t have enough strength in my core to perform a quick turn to avoid a potential accident. By the time I arrived at the plaza, I felt like I had just completed a big work out. Who knew turning a steering wheel could take so much energy? Needless to say, I was pretty happy I was able to drive.

Saturday morning started off with my usual summer routine – garage saling. It is something that started doing last year to help fill our empty house and I have found many awesome treasures doing so. Getting in and out of the car as well as walking short distances in multiple bouts over a period of 3-4 hours is great rehab. I have been going with my mom or my mother in law because they can drive as well as help me carry my goods since I still have lifting restrictions. Even though I was wiped after that, it was great to get back into some of the things I was doing pre-surgery.

Saturday evening, we had a bunch of friends over for board games and I was able to last from 6:30-11:30pm at the table. Board gaming nights are great because you can snack the whole time on junk food and no longer feel guilty about it.

Because of all the adventures from Saturday, I thought I would be in big trouble for Sunday. However, yesterday morning I woke up with minimal incisional pain and felt almost as if the surgery didn’t even happen. Spirits high. Energy near normal. I am not sure what sparked this but I was super excited.

So what did I do? I went with my mother in law to Value Village. Why? 50% off all clothing and accessories. Who could pass that up? For a mere $27 dollars I was able to purchase – 2 pairs of shorts, 1 pair of capris, 1 summer dress, 1 pair of shoes, and 1 summer shirt. Since my size keeps changing, it is great to pick up inexpensive clothing that I won’t feel bad about donating if they don’t fit by the fall. If you can’t tell already, I’m all about bargains and getting the biggest bang for your buck!

After Value Village, I was able to accompany Brandon to the local shopping mall to pick up a belated Father’s Day gift. I spent most of the time chilling out on the chairs as he ran around picking up the goods. Brandon is such a great sport – he carries my purse around when we go out together. I can’t just leave it in the car because it usually contains food for me to snack on while we are on our adventures. Again, best husband ever!

Finally, in the evening we had his family over for Father’s Day. I was able to eat the my whole meal without any issues. I was amazed. It consisted of home made BBQ ribs, potato salad, orzo salad and hummus. I wish I took a picture because it was great. I was also able to eat some of the dessert which was a lemon meringue pie baked by my mother in law. Oh yeah, plain old water is back on the menu!

All and all, my weekend was fantastic. It was the closest weekend to a normal weekend I have had over the past four weeks. The only catch is that I lost 2lbs because I was not able to keep up with my eating and I was doing so much activity. I now sit at 110lbs. This is something I need to work on. I especially need to get it down pat before I return to work because my job is like exercising all day.

Today, I booked my first appointment with my family doctor to discuss a possible B12 shot as I am now four weeks post op and likely need a top up. Next week, I follow up with my surgeon and to get my pathology report. Bum Bum Baaa!!

Leave a Reply

