What do you do all day?

Most of my recent blog posts have been made prior to 8am and this is mainly because I wake up super early these days.  I believe it is because my pain medication wears off around 5-6am every morning so it wakes me up.  I still am taking Tylenol regular strength throughout the day.  I try to be a hero sometimes and avoid it but when I take the Tylenol, I can do more and moving is good for healing.   I have noticed a pattern though.  When I move TOO much, I need to take more. So it’s all about finding a happy medium.  I feel pretty good during the days but I keep dreading night-time because it is still semi-difficult to maneuver in bed as well as I usually wake up with some sort of pain in the morning. I am sleeping now through most of the night though, which is good! Progress 🙂

I know that I’m getting better each day because I’m starting to get semi-bored at home.  Some people have been asking me, “What are you doing at home?”. To be perfectly honest, if I’m not napping, I’m eating or drinking fluids.  I fully understand why people who are post total gastrectomy say that eating is a full time job.  I try to do other things while I am eating or drinking in order to slow myself down.  If I eat too fast, the food gets all jammed up between my esophagus and jejunum and it doesn’t feel very good. I relate it to those cartoons where there is a slide and many characters are going down it. Suddenly a fat guy goes down and gets stuck and jams up the slide.  Finally, a few more characters go down and eventually dislodge him and they all go down the slide.   It takes me about 45 mins to complete a decent sized meal.  This morning I ate a full piece of mortadella cold cut, a hard boiled egg and a slice of cheese.

It’s a catch 22 right now. The more I move, the more I need to eat or I lose weight. It is hard to keep up.  Eventually I will level out but I know that many people continue to lose weight while they recover at home.  I need to eat to gain weight – such an odd concept for me to accept still.  I ate food all throughout the Relay on Friday and I still lost one pound.

So that brings me to my next point. I liked eating before, but now I love eating! It’s an adventure every time. Will it go down easy? Will I get dumping? Will I get a blast of energy after eating? How much can I eat today? I consider myself super lucky because I am able to eat most things right now with not too many issues.  I don’t want to jinx myself though!!

My favourite things to eat right now are: Yogurt, Cheese, Potatoes.  Brandon has been making me various cold beverages and yesterday I was able to drink an iced coffee (1 cup of light coffee) made with some honey and lactose free milk.  I also take a multivitamin every morning as well as a calcium/vitamin D supplement.

When I look back to two weeks ago – I was lying in bed at the hospital in the step down unit.  Still no food or drink.  Sleeping half the day.  Fast forward to 16 days later – I need one or two 1 hour naps during the day, I am eating solids, I am able to go out and do small errands with Brandon.  I’m really looking forward to seeing what another week will bring.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

