You should see the other guy

First off, I just wanted to thank everyone who donated to me for the Relay for Life. I was able to reach and surpass my fundraising goal of $1,000 for my walk on Friday.  I am still accepting donations until Friday for those of you who would still like to donate.

Yesterday, I managed to complete everything on my to do list for the day.  It was exciting that I was able to take a full shower. I was fairly winded afterwards but I managed to do it.  Looking at myself for the first time in a full sized mirror was a little bit of a wake up call though.  I used to have an athletic build, now I look more like a big head on a small body. Haha.  I think it just takes some getting used to.  When I picked up my cheese from the cheese shop yesterday, my sister in law (who also works there), said I looked good and that I was more like ‘celebrity thin’ now.  I’ll take it!

After some humming and hawing, I’ve decided to post a picture of my incision that I took yesterday. I am really sorry for all those reading who do not like graphic images.  I didn’t look at my incision for about three days after surgery because I was afraid.  However, when I did finally look at it, I was amazed at the precision and artistry.  I have subcutaneous stitches that will dissolve over time.  Above the stitching is a special surgical glue that seals the outside incision.  No staples! I AM going to rock that bikini next year.

wpid-20140604_110607.jpg

My core is pretty much shot at the moment. From the image you can imagine why.  Most of the muscular disruption occurred on the left side.  There is a large incision through my left internal/external obliques. On the right side there is a smaller one.  Those are the only muscles cut during the surgery.  Rectus abdominus is just pushed to the side.  I am doing my best to stand up straight when I walk but most of the time I feel like I am going to tear in half…haha.  But I know a thing or two about fascia and it’s good to stretch it a little over time, so that is what I have been doing. I have already started gentle lumbar active range of motion movements.  I’d hate to be stuck hunched like Quasimoto!  The most comfortable position to sit in is a reclined position but also the hardest position to get up from if you don’t have any arm rests!  That’s where Brandon comes in handy.

Since I’ve been home, I have done fairly well with eating. I was told that Ensure is good to increase your caloric intake but I keep getting minor cramping whenever I drink it. Other than the Ensure, I have been trying to eat anything I can get my hands on….and fingers crossed…so far so good.  I am not doing as well with drinking liquids.  Today, I am going to try focus on re-hydrating myself.

This may be too much information, but I haven’t had a bowel movement since May 23rd.  That would be exactly 13 days ago.  I am both terrified and interested to see what will make an appearance. Today, I will also focus on eating foods to get my colon going (pears, kiwi, diluted prune juice).  Who ever thought taking a dump would be so exciting?!?!?

The past two nights, I have woken up early in the morning with a big urge to just move my legs. I am not sure if it is restless leg syndrome or what, but it’s annoying. It has resulted in me getting up and walking around the house. It helps temporarily. I don’t get it during the day.  I hope it goes away once I’m up and moving more.

So that’s my blurb of the day.  Hope you all have a wonderful Thursday!

6 thoughts on “You should see the other guy

  1. Morning Rachel. Thank you for sharing this journey with so many. Love starting my day with your upbeat attitude and enthusiasm for life and normalcy! You rock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

