Post op day 8 – I’m able to use my ipad again!

20140531-210227.jpg

I write tonight’s recap of the day while my leg burns from my nightly blood thinner shot. It’s a good preventative measure for getting at DVT (Deep Vein Thrombosis) but I dread the shot every night. I’ve decided that the thigh is better than the back of the arm after receiving this shots for the past 8 nights.

I had a good night last night. I dread going to bed each night because the first night in the hospital I was in crippling pain and the second night I had an issue with my O2 sat dropping and my artery line. The third night I was constantly woken up by the alarms going on off in the step down unit. I always wake up every 2-3 hours to go to the washroom and I’m always afraid of rolling over on my IV line. However, after all that being said, my nights are getting better. I am usually woken up by the nurse at 10pm for meds, 2am for meds, 5:30am for vitals, and then 7:30am by the doctors doing their rounds.

Today was a good day though. I am thinking that all my issues yesterday was due to an electrolyte imbalance. I have been on a drip with some sugar and potassium for the past twenty four hours and it has worked wonders. No nausea, more energy, feeling overall functional! Yay!

I did well with the clear fluids today. I didn’t get any food from the hospital though. So I just stuck with my water as well as watered down juice. It all seemed to go well.

Brandon came to stay with me for the ‘morning shift’ and my mom and dad came for the afternoon. It has been nice having company this whole time. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful family and husband. In sicker and in health, right? It’s been a long commute for everyone because the construction on the gardiner expressway but I look forward for their arrival every time. It’s hard to believe that I have been here for 8 days already. Where has the time gone?!?!

I was able to go outside today and while I was out there I ran into Alex who I mentioned in a blog post a few back. We were able to have a chat and it turns out we are neighbours in the hospital. Alex is a true inspiration and I am very excited to have met her in person.

Anyways, beside all that I don’t have much to say today. My weight is continuously plummeting which I already knew was going to happen. I now sit around 117lbs and dropping. I’m starting to wonder if I’ll even fit the clothing I came into surgery with….haha.

So I end today’s post with this – if you ever feel like you are too fat, just get your stomach removed, guaranteed weight loss in 7 days and you get an all inclusive vacation where people cater to your needs 24/7 and food is infused into your veins. Hahah.

3 thoughts on “Post op day 8 – I’m able to use my ipad again!

  1. You are such a go getter Rachel I’m so glad your feeling better today nothing worse then feeling nauseated and not being able to be sick. Hope your home sooner then later. Take it easy and enjoy the catering. Xoxo

  2. Hey Rachel! Great meeting you and can’t believe we’re actually hospital neighbours 🙂 Here is a link to my blog: http://alexmiyoko.tumblr.com/
    Loved reading about your surgery experience, it’s also nice to hear someone so upbeat about cancer. I can relate to getting your first tray of clear fluids, so exciting!

Leave a Reply

