12 days to go…or 15…..I give up counting down

Hey All!

What a beautiful day to celebrate Mothers Day today!  I can’t make this post without giving a quick shout out to my mom who is just over four years post total gastrectomy.  She has been a huge asset in my journey with Hereditary Diffuse Gastric Cancer Syndrome.  I am lucky to have watch my mom go through this already and it makes everything I’m going through a whole lot less scary.  Thanks Mom!

Last week I received an email from the surgeon’s office stating that my surgical date may be moving from May 23rd to May 26th.  I’m lucky I was sitting home alone when I received that email because my initial reaction was not pretty.  However, after a minute or two, I felt back to my normal self.  It’s not guaranteed to move and even if it does, it means one more weekend to enjoy.  The unfortunate part of all of this is that I’m sitting in limbo. My surgical date has moved so many times, there is a joke about not believing I’m actually having the surgery until I’m actually on the table.  I did email the administrator back after receiving her email stating that I am slated to go off of work on the 23rd of May and if it moves any further back, I will not be working at all because my replacement starts on that day.  I hope that puts a little bit of pressure on them not to push me back any further.

In order not to get too upset about my surgical date moving so many times, I keep telling myself that my surgical date is being pushed back because there are people with more advanced cancers coming in and needing surgery immediately.  That thought pretty much abolishes any frustration I have with what has happened with my surgical date.  As far as I know at this point, my cancer is only Tis.  Looking at the statistics and my family pedigree also helps keep the mind at ease.

As mentioned earlier, I’m not working as much right now because of what happened with my original surgical date.  So I’ve been getting a lot done around my house in preparation for being out of commission for a little.  I’ve also been able to get outside and do some gardening which has been fantastic. Brandon is putting in six, 7ft x 7ft vegetable garden plots in our back yard.  Originally, I wasn’t going to be able to help plant because my surgery was going to be before the long weekend (May 17th-19th).  I’m really happy that I will get to help plant the vegetables this year and then he gets to then take care of it all.  Huge win!

I’ve also been able to enjoy this fantastic warm weather that started last week. So far I’ve been able to get out and complete a couple of 5km jogs around the neighbourhood in order to get myself better in shape for the surgery.  As I tell all my patients who are about to undergo surgery, ‘the better you are going in, the better you are coming out’.   I really don’t like running but I am taking my own advice on this one.

Yesterday, Brandon and I went out for ice cream.  Instead of getting my usual single scoop at Baskin and Robbins, I went all out and ordered the double scoop in a waffle cone.  I figured there’s no time like the present.  On that same note, I’ll be speaking with the dietitian on Tuesday about what to expect after surgery.

Ice Cream

So it’s not all bad that the surgical date has moved. If it never moved in the first place, I would have been having surgery tomorrow.

 

2 thoughts on “12 days to go…or 15…..I give up counting down

  1. Just a few more days to enjoy as much ice cream as you can! Keep us posted! Hopefully you can plant some sweet potatoes up there, it was one of the first things I found out I can eat consistently.

Leave a Reply

