6 weeks and reality starts to sink in

6 weeks to go….6 weeks….wow!

Well, much has happened since I left off.  The new sectional is great and every time I sit on it, I am really thankful we replaced our old couches.  I fell asleep on it last week and Brandon said I kept waking up to make sure I wasn’t drooling all over the new couch.  Sectional passes the sleep test!

This week, I decided to make my story Facebook public and a few days later my company decided to dedicate April for Rachel.  I am very honoured that they have decided to do this for me.

Just a little background about why this is important to me.  I work for a large healthcare company which has 1,000+ employees and many has clinics across Canada.  The clinics are composed of physiotherapists, chiropractors, kinesiologists, physiotherapy assistants, registered massage therapists, occupational therapists, and naturopaths.   The company blog will focus on raising awareness about CDH1 and hereditary diffuse gastric cancer syndrome to not only the staff, but also to all the patients who have linked to the company through social media (Facebook, Twitter, etc).  The blog will also be following me leading up to surgery and the Relay for Life (June).

Yesterday, the first company blog post was released onto Facebook and the response was phenomenal.  To my surprise,  many of my friends shared the link and some of these people are newly graduated physicians and upcoming physiotherapists.  This will be really great for spreading awareness not only to the public but also to upcoming healthcare professionals.   I also received many positive and supportive comments and personal messages.   Again, I can’t stress enough how lucky I feel to have such a wonderful support system.  I’m not someone who likes to be in the limelight but I thought I would turn something negative into something positive and even if it saves one person’s life, then it was all worth it!!  Thank you, thank you, thank you everyone.

Last week, I put my gym membership on hold. It didn’t cost anything but I had to bring a note from a health care professional.  This was fairly easy and thankfully one of my colleagues hooked me up.  Reading the letter and putting the membership on hold last week was a semi-sad moment because I realized that it would be few months until I would be able to get back to the gym.  I had written notes like these to many of my patients and it was weird being on the other side of it for once.   I decided to put it on hold now because I will be away for half of April and then I’m hoping it will be nice enough to exercise outside until the surgery.    It was definitely a moment where reality sunk it a little harder.

But on the upside of things, I’m 90% packed for Japan and we take off tomorrow.  I look forward to my “Farewell Stomach Tour – Japan Edition”  over the next two weeks.   Thanks Steve for the inspiration!!

For those of you who have just started reading my blog, I just wanted to re-iterate that you don’t need to worry about me.  I have 6 weeks to do what most people dream of…eat whatever I feel like and not worry about the weight gain.  Plus,  I’m going on vacation for two weeks so seriously, I feel worse for you guys than myself!

Bon Voyage!!

 

4 thoughts on “6 weeks and reality starts to sink in

  1. Hi Rachel. Have been following your blog since your mom sent me the first one. You, like your mom, are truly an inspirational individual! So glad that you have been surrounded and supported by family, friends, co workers, and some complete strangers! I have enjoyed spending this special time with your mom in Bonita Springs and hope that you also have a wonderful time on this trip of a lifetime you are about to set off on. Sending you lots of love and best wishes…..have an awesome time! Hugs, Dianne Sarnelli 🙂

Leave a Reply

